Why the Givelify app needs some permissions

  • Updated
  • Contacts
  • Location
  • Photos
  • WiFi

Here is an explanation for each feature and how it is used (or not used) by the Givelify app:

  • Contacts - Used if you want to make a donation to a church or nonprofit that is not a Givelify member. You can choose to send a text or email to the representative listed in the database indicating that you would like to use Givelify to donate.
    If you do not choose to send this invitation, Givelify will not access your Contacts or SMS capability.
  • Location - This is the GPS function of that app that finds organizations around you. For example, if you’re attending a fundraiser, you can select Nearby and that organization would be listed first without you having to manually search for it in the app.
    Location services are not required by the Givelify app, but do help speed up the donation process.
  • Photos - Used to upload a profile picture. The only place these photos are displayed is in the donor records section of an organization’s Givelify Analytics Studio and in your profile in the app.
    A profile photo is not required.
  • WiFi - This is a general setting for almost every app, and it ensures that if your device is connected to a WiFi network. The Givelify app then uses that network connection instead of cellular data.

How to turn off permissions

You can revoke any or all of these permissions at any time. For complete instructions for how to revoke these permissions, see the following articles:

To turn off permissions, follow these basic steps (may vary depending on device):

  1. On your device, open Settings.
  2. Select Apps or Application Manager (depending on your device, this may look different).
  3. Select the  app you want to update and then select Permissions.
  4. Find the permission and slide the switch to enable (green) or disable (gray) the permission.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request