Why does the Givelify app need so many permissions?

378 views 13

When you first download and install Givelify, the app requests permissions for the following:

  • Contacts/SMS
  • Phone
  • Location
  • Photos
  • WiFi
  • Device ID

Here is an explanation for each feature and how it is used (or not used) by the Givelify app:

Contacts/SMS
Used if you want to make a donation to a church or nonprofit that is not a Givelify member. You can choose to send a text or email to the representative listed in the database indicating that you would like to use Givelify to donate.

If you do not choose to send this invitation, Givelify will not access your Contacts or SMS capability.

Phone
Used to call organizations directly from the nonprofit or place of worship’s profile in the app. You can tap the phone number and call the church or nonprofit.

If you choose not to call the organization, Givelify will not access phone capability.

Location
This is the GPS function of that app that finds organizations around you. For example, if you’re attending a fundraiser, you can tap Nearby and that organization would be listed first without you having to manually search for it in the app.

Location services are not required by the Givelify app, but do help speed up the donation process.

Photos
Used to upload a profile picture. The only place these photos are displayed is in the donor records section of an organization’s Givelify Dashboard and in your profile in the app.

A profile photo is not required.

WiFi
This is a general setting for almost every app, and it ensures that if your device is connected to a WiFi network then the Givelify app uses that network connection instead of cellular data.

Device ID
Used for debugging when the app experiences an error. The Device ID tells our developers critical information including the device type, its operating system and version, and the version of the Givelify app.

The phrase “call information” does not refer to phone calls, but rather the calls the app makes to the web services that power it. So in this case, “call information” means all the requests the app is making to GPS, our payment processor, and the organization’s Givelify account.

Important Note

You can revoke any or all of these permissions at any time.

Complete instructions for doing so may be found at:

Here is the brief rundown:

  1. On your device, open the main Settings app.
  2. Tap Apps or Application Manager (depending on your device, this may look different).
  3. Tap the app you want to update.
  4. Tap Permissions.
  5. Next to a permission you want to turn on, move the switch to the right until it turns green. If you want to turn a permission off, move the switch to the left until it turns gray.

Was this helpful?